Bookmark and Share
Buy Tickets

AFF Suzuki Cup has lift off

The eagerly anticipated draw for the 2012 AFF Suzuki Cup, South-East Asia’s most-prestigious tournament, took place today (July 11) in Bangkok.

Defending champions Malaysia and three-time winners Thailand will each host a four-team group from November 24-December 1 and they were joined in the hat by Indonesia, Philippines, Singapore and Vietnam.

The qualifiers in Yangon, Myanmar, from October 5-13 will see Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar and Timor Leste play in a single round-robin group with the top two teams progressing to the AFF Suzuki Cup finals.

The biennial AFF Suzuki Cup to crown the kings of Asean football stirs the passions of patriotic fans throughout the region who closely follow the action at the stadia and on television.

Two of the most iconic stadiums in Asean, the 49,000-capacity Rajamangala Stadium in Bangkok and the Bukit Jalil Stadium in Kuala Lumpur, will be the main venues for the group stage.

Draw result:
Group A – Thailand, Vietnam, Philippines and Winner Q

Group B – Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore and Runners-up Q