Bookmark and Share
Buy Tickets

Cambodia pick squad for qualifiers

Photo credit: Football Federation of Cambodia (FFC)

Cambodia have named a 21-man squad, including star striker Khim Borey who scored three goals in the 2010 campaign, for the AFF Suzuki Cup qualifying tournament to be staged in Yangon from October 5-13.

The Cambodians, who failed to qualify for the AFF Suzuki Cup finals two years ago, will complete their build-up for the competition in Malaysia and plan a friendly with the national team on October 2.

Three players will miss the bulk of the training camp due to club commitments.

Defender Tieng Tiny, midfielder Sos Sohana and team captain Borey will play for Phnom Penh Crown at the 2012 AFC President’s Cup in Dushanbe, Tajikistan from September 24-30.

Cambodia meet Timor Leste in their opening clash on October 5 before taking on Laos, Brunei and hosts Myanmar.

Head coach Hong Sochetra, a former international, said that he had watched Brunei and Laos in recent friendly matches.

“Brunei seem not to be a problem, but Laos are really improving. We have to make a strong effort at the upcoming tournament,” he told local media.

The top two teams from the qualifiers will earn spots in the AFF Suzuki Cup to be held in Thailand and Malaysia from November 24 to December 22.

The winners will compete in the Bangkok-based Group A alongside three-time champions Thailand, 2008 winners Vietnam and the Philippines, while the second-placed team will join defending champions Malaysia, 2010 runners-up Indonesia and Singapore, triumphant in 1998, 2004 and 2007, for matches in Kuala Lumpur.

Cambodia squad:
Goalkeepers - Sou Yaty (National Defence), Um Vichet (National Defence)

Defenders - Lay Raksmey (Preah Khan Reach), Touch Pancharong (Boeung Ket), Khek Khemarin (National Defence), Khiev Vibol (Boeung Ket), Tieng Tiny (Phnom Penh Crown), Om Thavrak (Naga Corp), Say Piseth (Police Commissary)

Midfielders - Chhun Sothearoath (Build Bright United), Sun Sopanha (Naga Corp), Chhin Chhoeun (National Defence), Soun Veasna (Preah Khan Reach), Sos Suhana (Phnom Penh Crown), Prak Mony Udom (Preah Khan Reach), Tum Saray (Preah Khan Reach)

Forwards - Keo Sokgnorn (Boeung Ket), Srey Udom (Police Commissary), Teab Vathanak (Naga Corp), Khim Borey (Phnom Penh Crown), Phoung Soksana (National Defence)